Author Topic: Reference document for AdvancedHMI  (Read 2617 times)

Ronkpa

• View Profile
Reference document for AdvancedHMI
« on: September 15, 2017, 11:45:31 AM »
I'm just getting started with AdvancedHMI Modbus TCP and so far it is working great. Are there any reference documents available for AdvancedHMI that cover things such as MaxReadGroupSize and SwapWords and other things like that which are available? Also if I want to create my own ControlComponent and have it automatically send and receive data just like the the AdvancedHMIControlComponents (without using explicit reads and writes), how would I get started? Lastly is there a way to set up an AdvancedHMIControlComponent to handle Unsigned Long (UInt32)? Thanks.

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: Reference document for AdvancedHMI
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2017, 01:36:04 PM »
Over the years the documentation has become fragmented and scattered about, but recently an effort has been made to slowly consolidate it on a wiki found here:

http://advancedhmi.com/documentation

Creating components from scratch does require some fairly advanced programming techniques and can take a while to master. One place to start is in the Additional Components section of the forum. There are many examples with full source code. One in particular that is good to start with is the Aqua gage.

As for unsigned integers, that is a service of the particular driver. The Modbus driver currently supports unsigned 16 bit or signed 32 bit , but not unsigned 32 bit. You would have to read 2 consecutive registers then perform some code to assemble the results into an unsigned 32 bit.

timryder

• Still trying to figure it out
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2017, 02:45:48 PM »
Can anyone contribute to the WiKi?

I wouldn't mind writing a few dozen pages of info.
Still just trying to figure out this thing called Life.

Ronkpa

• View Profile