Author Topic: direct logic 05 and ModbusRTU com driver  (Read 21987 times)

stilesbss

• View Profile
direct logic 05 and ModbusRTU com driver
« on: August 19, 2014, 09:55:59 PM »
Hi there.  I am really new to the world of PLCs but I must say that the communities are amazing.  Everywhere I have gone with questions the people are just awesome.

I have a few questions about connecting a DL05 using the modbus RTU driver.

When setting an address for the the objects there are 4 plcaddress lines,  each with a different ending.  Do they do different things?  Are they used for different objects?  Should each object use one spot, or should all 4 be filled?

Also, which method should be used for adjusting the plc addresses to modbus addresses when directing an object.

That should be it for now.  I have a lot more questions, but many of them depend on what I have already asked. 

Thank you everyone for your help.

« Last Edit: January 01, 2019, 07:57:37 PM by Archie »

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: direct logic 05 with the modbus RTU comm driver questions.
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2014, 10:01:02 PM »
When setting an address for the the objects there are 4 plcaddress lines,  each with a different ending.  Do they do different things?  Are they used for different objects?  Should each object use one spot, or should all 4 be filled?
As a general rule, the name after PLCAddress is the property that gets changed based on the value returned from the PLC. For example, if you put a valid address in PLCAddressValue, it will read the value from the PLC and place it in the Value property of the HMI object. In design mode, you can see the effect this has by manually putting a value into the corresponding properties.

stilesbss

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2014, 01:20:42 PM »
Thank You.  That was very helpful.