Author Topic: New project: SLC 5/04 not responding over serial  (Read 1379 times)

WellsCPak

• View Profile
New project: SLC 5/04 not responding over serial
« on: April 24, 2017, 03:30:51 PM »
I have just started a new project to talk to a SLC controller and build a basic HMI. I'm new to serial comms AND to the SLC series of processors, and I'm drawing at straws here to get any response.
I have a fresh AHMI project with only the SerialDF1 driver, two basic labels (bits B3:0/0 and B3:0/1) and a standard VB label tied to the ComError event of the driver so I can get some amount of feedback.
Code: [Select]
Private Sub SerialDF1forSLCMicroCom1_ComError(sender As Object, e As Drivers.Common.PlcComEventArgs) Handles SerialDF1forSLCMicroCom1.ComError
        Label1.Text = e.ErrorMessage
    End Sub
When I run the project from visual studio, it doesn't do anything visually for a few seconds, then the ComError label changes to "No Response from PLC"
The two BasicLabels never change from their default text.

Driver: SerialDF1forSLCMicroCom
AHMI Driver Settings: baud=19200, parity=None, checksum=CRC, port=COM3
Controller: SLC 5/04
Channel 0 Settings: mode=DF1 Full Duplex, baud=19200, parity=None, stop=1, checksum=CRC, Source ID=9, No Handshaking

AHMI version 3.99w
Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port adapter

bachphi

• View Profile
Re: New project: SLC 5/04 not responding over serial
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2017, 03:46:49 PM »
1. Goto Device Manager , verify that the USB Serial Adapter driver is properly installed and check what COM port it connected.
2. In RSLinx, remove or stop all existing serial drivers. Add DF1 Serial device driver - select appropriate COM port.
3. Go online with your rslogix software.
4. Once you verified being able connection online, then SHUTDOWN RSLinx.
5.  Try setup your AAHMI with SerialDF1forSLCMicroCom driver

===================================================
This is NOT alt.read.my.mind.