Author Topic: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"  (Read 6748 times)

astroman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« on: January 28, 2015, 05:49:56 PM »
Hi Archie (and everyone). I've just begun a project in 3.97e using the EthernetIPforCLXCom1 driver, but suddenly my components are showing an "Invalid Tag" error. I'm using the format Program:MainProgram.On_Off_Pump
I've tried the tag in v3.97d, and everything is fine. Has there been a change to the tag structure? Thank you!

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2015, 09:32:20 PM »
There was a change to fix a problem of UDT arrays not working. That change could have created the problem you are having. I will check into it.

Do Controller scope tags work?

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2015, 09:46:32 PM »
It was a problem created when using program scope tags.

- Download and extract the attached patch
- Replace the file in \AdvancedHMIDrivers\Support
- Open the project in VS
- Clean All
- Rebuild All


PATCH REMOVED - See update below
« Last Edit: January 29, 2015, 02:01:22 PM by Archie »

jsorah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2015, 09:08:01 AM »
Applied the patched dll and I am still getting the same error as before, but the packets no longer display as malformed in wireshark.

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2015, 01:55:06 PM »
I was able to test this and found the problem. Try this patch to see if it works

jsorah

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2015, 02:04:10 PM »
The most recent patch appears to have resolved the problem, thanks Archie.

astroman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 21
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2015, 08:58:39 AM »
That did it. Thank you very much Archie.

Darrell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Electrician / PLC Technician
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2015, 09:02:33 PM »
Since updating my HMI from 97D to 97e my buttons and indicator on a control Logix driver get this error , and no longer work , tried adding you patch and I still have the error.

The particular item referenced (usually instance) could not be found

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2015, 09:20:17 PM »
Since updating my HMI from 97D to 97e my buttons and indicator on a control Logix driver get this error , and no longer work , tried adding you patch and I still have the error.

The particular item referenced (usually instance) could not be found
Are you using Program Scope tags?

Darrell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Electrician / PLC Technician
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #9 on: February 01, 2015, 10:21:10 PM »
all controller tags  , base tags , bool
« Last Edit: February 01, 2015, 10:23:13 PM by Darrell »

Darrell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Electrician / PLC Technician
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #10 on: February 02, 2015, 10:43:01 PM »
Also noticed in 3.97D it will not let you force a value into a timer preset , DINT , I will try adding the patch to 3.97e to see if it cures  the above problem.

Darrell
Sorry
My mistake value was being over written somewhere else
« Last Edit: February 03, 2015, 07:48:08 AM by Darrell »

Archie

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5262
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #11 on: February 03, 2015, 08:04:38 PM »
Since updating my HMI from 97D to 97e my buttons and indicator on a control Logix driver get this error , and no longer work , tried adding you patch and I still have the error.

The particular item referenced (usually instance) could not be found
I added a BasicButton and set PLCAddressClick to a controller scope Bool, then set OutputType to Toggle. I also added a BasicIndicator and set PLCAddressSelectColor2 to the same bit. It worked as expected for me.

Am I testing the same way?

Randy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2015, 06:27:36 PM »
I am porting a project from 3.70 to 3.97e
I have downloaded and installed the latest dll above but still have a problem.

I have a UDT name HMI with a REAL[800]

With version 3.70 I could read the entire array

With version 3.97e I can only read the first 65 elements.

Below is code.  Click the button until N = 66



 Public C As New AdvancedHMIDrivers.EthernetIPforCLXCom

    Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click

        Static N As Integer = 60

        If C.IPAddress <> "192.168.1.6" Then
            C.DisableSubscriptions = True
            C.IPAddress = "192.168.1.6"
        End If

        Dim Tag1 = "HMI.REAL[0]"

        Dim S() As String = C.Read(Tag1, N)
        MsgBox(N & "  " & S(N - 1))
        N += 1
    End Sub


Randy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2015, 06:47:28 PM »
I also found I had version 2.94.  It has the same problem of not being able to read more than 65 elements of an array as 2.97e

Darrell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
  • Electrician / PLC Technician
    • View Profile
Re: EthernetIPforCLXCom1 "Invalid Tag"
« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2015, 11:31:40 PM »
has the patch been added to 3.97e the posted version for download , I may be  adding the patch incorrectly and the maybe part of my problem in my post listed above.

Darrell