Author Topic: Transfer Schedule Data From SQL Database to Micro850  (Read 886 times)

CalitriSan

• View Profile
Transfer Schedule Data From SQL Database to Micro850
« on: March 24, 2021, 11:20:38 PM »
Hello - I'm very new to the world of PLC's and Advanced HMI and was thrown into the fire after the untimely passing of a co-worker, so please bear with my ignorance....

I'm trying to get our HMI set up to where an operator can load schedule data to the PLC to avoid manual data entry. I have set up an SQL server with a database and table that contains all of the data which will need sent. Two of the columns are schedule date and schedule, so I'm envisioning the user having two dropdowns (one date, one schedule name) to select a schedule and all of the corresponding data will be transferred.

I'm able to show the data in a datagridview but have no idea how to filter the data by schedule or how to write it to the PLC. Does anyone have any experience doing something similar or could provide some insight into how I would go about completing this project?

Thanks - Ray

Godra

• View Profile
Re: Transfer Schedule Data From SQL Database to Micro850
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2021, 07:30:20 PM »
This all kind of sounds complex and without really knowing your data or your programming knowledge, I will just make some general suggestions:

- If you have several schedules per single date then you could have 2 dropdowns (date, schedule) and your date dropdown would have to control what schedules show in the schedule dropdown
- If you have only 1 schedule per single date then you could have only 1 dropdown (date)
- You might consider having a "Load" button next to dropdown(s) and use its Click event to actually send values to the PLC by checking what date or schedule was selected