Author Topic: Use an internal variable to change the tags labels and buttons are connected to  (Read 235 times)

PLCHorse

• View Profile
I hope i can explain myself here.

Im trying to set up a page where all the fields for a given Part[PartSelection] are changed. I could write a getter/setter wrapper in the PLC to achieve this but I wonder if the HMI can do it for me. So i am imagining that there would be some selection or menu in the form which lets you select the part number that you are editing. This selection would then change - in masse - the tags that the buttons and labels on the form go to in the PLC. I may need an ini for this - thats the way i was imagining would be INIfile[PartSelection] - tagName

I also don't know how to set an internal variable with the VisualBasic software. I am rather new to it.

Thoughts appreciated.

Archie

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • AdvancedHMI
In version 3.99y, there is a RecipeSelect and a RecipeSaveButton.

In the RecipeSaveButton there is a Property of PLCAddressItems that let's you select which tags/registers are parts of the recipe. When the RecipeSaveButton is clicked, it will ask for a RecipeName, then read all of those current values and save them to an INI File.

The RecipeSelect will read the INI file and give a button for each unique Recipe Name that was saved. By clicking the appropriate button, it will write the values back to the PLC.

Is this what you are trying to do?

PLCHorse

• View Profile
From the sound of it i was making it hard on myself.

So if im understanding this feature correctly, i can have any number of Integers, Strings, bits, and so on saved to this recipe file, and load and save the recipe as I want. Then, say if i wanted to do bitwise manipulation of the tags in the recipe, i can do so with buttons mapped to the PLC values, and then satisfied with the edits i can save the recipe and then load it.

Hua ha ha, and to think... prior everything was being done in the PLC...

PLCHorse